Yatogami Shrine Tutorial

Noragami Shrine

「お前の願い確かに聞き届けた。あなたにご縁があらんことを。」
“Your wish has been heard loud and clear. It must have been fate that we met.”

Yayy, Yato finally has a shrine!! Well, actually I made this like way before the chapter where Hiyori builds Yato a shrine, so I win XD I’m basically his first follower (laughs)!

The one on the left is my cousin’s, the one on the right is the one I made.

1800466_658314760953079_7237183465626973476_n

Noragami photoshoot here and here

10336785_658314677619754_476091281118614484_n10296572_552202528230970_9003364139773644918_n

How to make Yato’s Shrine from Noragami

 1. I made the base out of two layers of popsicle sticks, each layer going in different directions, to make a square. I then covered that in origami paper. To raise the base off the ground I cut more popsicle sticks in half and glued some together to make a thick stack. The stacked sticks got glued in a square underneath the base and covered with some nice paper I had left-over from making the yuujinchou ^^

2. I cut 4 pieces of thick paper (also from the yuujinchou) out for the walls. 2 pieces are square, and 2 pieces are house shaped (triangle on top of a square shape). Then I took toothpicks and wooden coffee stirrers cut to the right length to make a lattice, like on a Japanese paper screens. The wooden pieces should be glued to the paper, because they are very delicate on their own. I then glued sheer paper (my friend used rice paper and I used some thick sheer paper with leaf designs on it) over the wooden lattice to make the walls look even more like a Japanese screen. I forgot to cut a door in one of my walls at this point, and had to pull apart the toothpicks on one part of my screen… plan ahead and cut a door, please XD

3. I made the roof out strips of origami paper, but any other nice Japanese-themed paper would work splendidly. One side should be longer than the other to make the overhang at the front of the shrine.

4. Cut 4 wooden chopsticks to the height of the square walls and glue these to the edges of the walls in the 4 corners of the shrine to stick the walls together. Glue to roof to the shrine. Hot glue is useful for these steps. (In the previous steps I used Elmer’s glue)

5. Cut out shide (instructions here) and glue them to a rope thread. Attach the rope underneath the front corners of the roof.

6. Make torii gates from Shrinky Dink. For proper sizing, about one whole sheet of Shrinky Dink will be needed. If you can’t get Shrinky Dink, painted craft sticks would probably work just as well after some cutting.

7. Aaand lastly glue the house and torii to the platform! Set the shrine back a little so there’s room for the torii. Cut two wooden chopsticks to the proper height and glue them to the platform and roof as pillars to prop up the overhang at the front of the shrine. And done! Finally!… expect to be occupied on this project for at least 3 hours…

Leave a comment